Posted in Arts, Dramas & Musicals

Malam Sajak Sang Pemula @ BACA- The Reading Room & Cafe

getting ready
The 1st picture I took when I reached BACA that night

So.. I know about “Malam Sajak Sang Pemula” on the 17th of July 2016. When I 1st heard of it from Ms. Surina, I thought about my past experiences in school, where we need to read aloud puisi, sajak, pantun or syair in our Bahasa Melayu class. Coming from a Kebangsaan school,   I was given opportunities to taste activities like these in my Primary school. I remembered very vividly that I needed to present an English poem on the stage during one of our school’s weekly English day (it was on every Wednesday morning) but failed to memorized the full verse, right now I can’t really recall the words of the poem except for the title , Rub a Dub Dub, I tried google-ing it just now but couldn’t find the version that I practiced last time. It was a very scary experience for me last time on the stage. I have stage fright and could feel the butterflies in my stomach.

That rainy evening, I reached BACA at 9pm sharp, sat around and chit chat with others until it started at 930pm. Yeah I know I did not go with any friends, I tried to ask my friends to join me but my group of friends divided into a few groups of; not interested, busy with their life & children & friends that are too far from Temerloh to join me, that may have love the event. It ended at 12am, correct me if I’m wrong.

stage =) & people

Can you recognized which is me on the above picture? Do comment okay? This picture is taken by one of the Project Rabak people. A good picture to keep for remembrance.  7 people presented their written poem; it was nostalgic for me although the poems sounds more modernized comparing to my school years.

The Emcee of the day was Ms. Adilin, I enjoyed her cheerfulness and bubbly personality. 1st one to share 3 ‘pantun’s was  Tok Kura. I enjoyed all 3 of his poems, ‘Tag Tag 20sen’ and ‘Ayah’. 2) Tia’s , Summer and Inconsistent lovers, made me reflect back on my past crushes and also the poem Summer makes me thought about which state was I going to be when I do not seek medical help when I’m a college student. Suicidal thoughts are not new in our world today. Many mental patient go through that. 3) Ms. Diana’s, ‘Anugerah’ makes my heart cry, so sweet the lovebirds as you can see in the above picture.

I could say my Bahasa is not that good, so I need to take some time to listen before I really can catch the meaning behind it. Want to brush up my Malay language! 4) Malik read 4 malay poem and 1 english poem. 5) Ashikin M. (her existence made me realized Mahsuri is real). 6) Mr.Jamal’s spoken poems brings me to shame with his perfect English! As I wrote on my instagram, I love 2 of his poems Words (talking about Malay in general but I love the way he plays with words)& Creditbilit-Y (genY behind) & also not forgetting his phrase “The healing powers of waiting”. Ended with (6) Md.Jayzuan, I’m not really a fan as I’m afraid of places like tomb stone or cemetery, his way of presenting the poems are a little bit too hard for me.

Overall these experience had made me realized how much poems have changed from my years in school . After I known it for 2 and half decades, count my age *grins*. Similar to the past poems, poet uses to express their feelings. I also realized that poems are normally written when someone feels emotional even though there are also happy poems out there. I would love to thank Ms. Surina and BACA for giving me an opportunity to attend the event. Thanks also to Projek Rabak for the moving presentation :). Thanks Vinh for putting this all together as the curator of the team.

For more events information to keep yourself updated about BACA, please go to their Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/thereadingroomncafe/

Opening hours if you are in Temerloh:

10am to 10pm everyday except Monday.

There are many books to check out over there.

a few links of the Team from Projek Rabak (thanks Diana for the list of links for future references)

Curator : Vin Vinh

Some poets :

  1.  Diana Baharudin
  2. Jamal Raslan
  3. Tuk Kura (English) or Tuk Kura (Malay) instagram: Tuk Kura , twitter: tukkura91

*Projek Rabak*
www.projekrabak.com
www.facebook.com/projekrabak
www.instagram.com/projekrabak
www.twitter.com/projekrabak

*Rabak-Lit*
www.facebook.com/rabaklit
www.instagram.com/rabaklit
www.twitter.com/rabaklit

*Khizanat | Rumah Khizanat*

www.facebook.com/khizanat
www.instagram.com/khizanat
www.twitter.com/khizanat

*Ipoh Kreative*
www.facebook.com/ipohkreative
www.instagram.com/ipohkreative
www.twitter.com/ipohkreative

myheartots

Author:

I love crafts, photo taking, knowing new food places, travelling within budget, I love my 3 cats at home.

Leave a Reply

